27 July 2017

Railway Station as Tourist Destination

24 railway stations of tourist importance have been identified for upgradation of passenger amenities in association with Ministry of Tourism on a cost sharing basis in the ratio of 50:50 subject to a ceiling of D 240 Cr. from Ministry of Tourism (MOT) and Ministry of Railways (MOR) together.
The zone-wise identified Railway stations are as under:
Northern Railway
Amritsar, Delhi Safdurjung, Kurukshetra, Rai-Bareli, Haridwar and Varanasi
Southern Railway
Thiruvananthapuram, Rameshwaram and Madurai

East Central Railway

North Central Railway
Agra Cantt.

North Western Railway
Jaipur and Ajmer

East Coast Railway

South Central Railway
Hyderabad, Tirupati, Nanded and Aurangabad

South Western Railway

Northeast Frontier Railway
Kamakhya, Guwahati, and New Jalpaiguri
Eastern Railway
Tarapith Road and Tarakeshwar

The stations are identified on the basis of heritage and tourism importance of the station / destinations it caters to.
23 out of 24 stations, except Tarapith Road, have been jointly inspected by the team of officers from MOR and MOT.

The expenditure likely to be incurred on the development of these stations is D 240 Cr. from MOT and MOR together.